Negative Experiences and Emotions

negativityOne of the mentors that works here at EQmentor reached out to me over the weekend.  He had been struck by a question his mentee had posted and wanted my input prior to responding. His mentee told him that in some of the most popular books and literature, there seems to be universal agreement that negative experiences and the resulting negative emotions are either to be avoided or to be ignored. The widespread message seems to be to not to dwell on negativity and instead leverage the power of “positive energy” and “positive thinking.” 

I am all for a positive attitude. I mean, who wants to work or live with someone who sees the preverbial glass half empty all the time? What good could possibly come from an athlete saying “I am going to fail” in the middle of their performance? In this context, yes, I agree that a positive attitude is very good, healthy, and in most cases, contagious.

But I gathered from this mentor that this notion was being extrapolated into an unrealistic territory — in the context of life, in general. It is unrealistic for positivity to be applied so broadly. For one thing, negative experiences are a natural part of life … they will occur whether you want them to or not.  When I speak, I often ask my audience to raise their hands if they wake up every morning and hope for something negative to happen. No hands go up. I then ask them to raise their hands if something bad happens anyway … and all the hands go up.  So negative experiences are going to happen.

In addition, negative emotions are necessary for positive ones to exist. If you’ve never been sad, it is quite possible you’ve never been truly happy either. If you’ve ever had a great day or a great experience, it is likely because you can juxtapose that to previous days or previous experiences that perhaps were not so good. In other words, it is easy to read popular literature (mostly non-scientific) and begin to take matters out of context.

While I am not suggesting we proactively seek negative experiences, I am suggesting that we seek new and challenging experiences where the likelyhood of failure is possible.  I am suggesting that in lieu of nonchalantly brushing off negative experiences for fear of “being too negative” or “dwelling on the negative” that we embrace our negative experiences.  In my third book (Is Today The Day?) I interviewed dozens of Stage IV cancer patients.  Almost all told me that they learned more from their mistakes in life than their successess and wished they had taken more risks. To learn from mistakes and to figure out ways to make yourself and the world better as a result is truly one of life’s grandest opportunities. The rewards are incalculable and the resultant emotions are just priceless. 

My point this week is to not mistake a positive attitude for avoiding learning from negative experiences. Whatever you feel is right. If you’re sad, and asked “how are you?” — concede that you are sad … with the expectation that it is an effort to make yourself better. Responding to the previous question with “Doing just great! How about you?” is not only deceiving and disingenuous, it is not necessary. I urge my readers to not throw the gift of negative experiences away. They happen every day whether we want them to or not. By simply questioning and dialoguing, we can probably find ways to make ourselves, others, and life better. This is the power of emotions.

18 responses to “Negative Experiences and Emotions

  1. Bernie Donkerbrook

    Nice job! You’ve captured well a working response we can use in helping someone deal with wanting to avoid ‘negative emotions’.

  2. Pingback: Changing Your Emotional Temperature « Professional Development

  3. Remarkable! Its really awesome paragraph, I have got much clear idea about from this paragraph.

  4. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a
    blog post or vice-versa? My website goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you
    happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Excellent blog by the way!

  5. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    web site, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided
    bright clear concept

  6. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, good blog!

  7. Good info. Lucky me I came across your blog by accident (stumbleupon).

    I have book-marked it for later!

  8. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  9. Howdy! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.

    If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!

  10. Hey! My name is Murray and I personally just wanted to say your
    blogging site rocks! It truly is funny because I use to have a
    website that virtually had an identical web address: http:
    //izzyjustice.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/negative-experiences-and-emotions/ mine was only a few characters different.
    Anyways, I’m a big admirer of your weblog and if you at any time want a guest post please email me personally at: murrayfeldman@gmail.com. I love writing!

  11. Your style is really unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this web site.

  12. If your mom is just one of this kind it would be great to provide her comfortable pillow cases and bed sheet to create her sleep better.
    To you could make your mom’s birthday more special and memorable, it would be a good plan to come up with some homemade gift ideas for her. Just suppose big smile when she sees the Amazon box with all the Kindle inside.

  13. I just like the valuable info you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more here regularly.
    I am somewhat sure I’ll be told a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  14. Hi there, after reading this remarkable piece of writing
    i am too glad to share my familiarity here with mates.

  15. Your way of telling everything in this article is truly
    nice, every one can without difficulty be aware of it,
    Thanks a lot.

  16. Hi to all, the contents present at this web site are truly awesome for
    people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  17. First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question that I’d
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out
    there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin.

    Any ideas or tips? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

