High Class Problems

Years ago, I went to my boss and shared with him a serious problem we were having with our business. It was the kind of problem that comes with growth and success. I was literally stunned by his initial reaction. My boss said to me, “This is the kind of problem we want to have… I call it a High Class Problem.” He then proceeded to tell me that one of the best ways to be highly engaged and excited about your work is to solve high class problems.

High class problems are problems that occur because you solved most of the initial problems. High class problems are the problems of success. As we start 2010, both a new year and a new decade, I want you to think about what kinds of high class problems might exist in your business. Over the past three weeks, I have posted all kinds of videos to demonstrate the capacity of our curiosity, courage, and efforts. We are truly capable of performing miracles ourselves (as opposed to waiting for them to occur through some random act of circumstance). Solving high class problems will not only help your business, but also get you motivated. Granted, they will lead to more high class problems and that’s what all high performers want.

One more thing… the problem you solve does not have to be YOUR high class problem. You can find high class problems anywhere — in another business unit, in your partnerships with others, in your community, and perhaps in your personal life. In fact, I need to make a confession… the most pride I have ever felt in a professional environment was when I launched an internal community service project for an organization I used to work for. It was not my problem nor was it in my business, but it was a problem for the organization. I created a plan and offered it to the leadership team. They bought it. Today, many years later, that organization still uses that program. Learn to find and solve high class problems. It will do wonders for your confidence and sense of direction in 2010 and beyond.

Leave a Reply

