Take Emotional Temperatures

I received the feedback below from a participant in one of my workshops.

“I liked Dr. Justice’s advice to take a personal emotional reading once a day. Instead of once a day, I have tried to apply this concept multiple times a day so that I won’t hinder positive conversations\meetings that I participate in. I also find the advice good for ascertaining the emotional barometer of people I interact with so that I will know how to respond and/or proceed in a conversation.”

I realized that taking an emotional temperature is not something I have discussed in this blog, though I regularly recommend it as a simple action item in speeches and coaching sessions.

Through the course of our day, and especially if the day involves interaction with other folks, our emotional temperature changes. Some people and some meetings or calls make us “feel good” while others cause some level of anxiety.  Most of us go through these events for days and weeks without appreciating these experiences for the impact they have on us — both while they are occuring and then for the rest of the day.

Take, for example, a great meeting you have with your boss or client, and imagine the person you meet with after that great meeting.  Without getting into the science of this, aren’t the odds already high that the following meeting has a better chance of going well because you feel positive? Conversely, what if the same meeting with your boss and client went south… could you be at your best during your next meeting or call? Probably not. So you see the ebb and flow of our emotional state and temperature as the day progresses and the importance of knowing what it is so that one negative experience does not impact the rest of your day or week …. and in some cases, your life.

I will elaborate more on this in the upcoming few weeks. This week, set up an alert on your cell phone/iPhone/BlackBerry for noon each day. Then, at the moment it goes off, ask yourself, “How do I feel? What is my emotional temperature?” And without making this complex, make your answer Low, Medium, or High. Low meaning there is some negativity going on, and high being you’re very positive.  Try it each day this week… and next week, I’ll discuss what to do with the results. The following week, I’ll discuss how to take the emotional temperature of others, and of a situation as well. Have fun!

7 responses to “Take Emotional Temperatures

  1. I like to take an emotional temperature after the major events in my day: after that important phone call; once that project is done; after an unexpected event. It helps me collect myself and get grounded. In our busy lives, this is even more important so can collect ourselves at multiple times during the day, rather than just coast through the day through the speedbumps, hurdles and exciting times without reflection.

    Best,

    Ellen Naylor
    http://www.thecisource.com
    http://cooperativeintelligenceblog.com
    http://blogfrommyheart.com

  2. Pingback: Changing Your Emotional Temperature « Professional Development

  3. Pingback: Empathy – The Ultimate Goal « Professional Development

  4. Pingback: Changing Your Emotional Temperature | HRM Today

  5. Pingback: Trigger Stimulants « Professional Development

  6. Pingback: Trigger Stimulants | HRM Today

  7. Pingback: Performance Barriers | Professional Development

Leave a Reply

