Performance Barriers

This past weekend I had a professional golfer visit with me. The PGA Tour Event is in my hometown of Charlotte and most of the top players are in town. This particular golfer feels like he is technically and physically in the best shape of his life, striking the ball beautifully with an array of shots and shot making. However, he simply was not scoring very well.  He wanted to know what the issue was.

So we went and played together.  Before the round, I gave him a score to shoot. During the round, I was incredibly disruptive to his game making noises, walking while he was hitting, and breaching almost all of the fine etiquette associated with golf. I disrupted his game and he never came close to the target score. Though he hit the ball well, he played as poorly as I have ever seen any professional golfer play — shooting well over par.

We sat down after the round.  He blamed his poor showing on fatigue, slow play, and me… though he knew what I was doing was intentional.  In our debrief, I told him that he was right in his assessment of the state of his swing, and golf game. In fact, he hit some of the most amazing shots I have seen in person ever. After the front 9, I had told him he better have a great back 9 to reach his target score and his response was, “Don’t’ worry, I got it.”  We had a wonderful debrief and he learned a great deal.

I thought about our round in the context of the workplace. How many of us are very good at what we do, but are failing at what we do or not getting the results we expect or others expect from us? Like the golfer, many of “workplace athletes” – high performers and high potentials – often end up fighting the wrong battles, losing the wrong wars, and compromising our very own skills.

Just as the golfer was distracted by things he should not be, many of us at work spend unforgivable amounts of time dealing with non-issues like political posturing, social maneuvering, and quite frankly, workplace gossip, innuendos, and hyperboles. The creative and emotional fuel consumption of these activities results in very draining days, and transfer of energy from high performance to making high quality excuses.

This week, take inventory of the reasons you have not or are not performing at a very high level. Seriously – write all those reasons down on a piece of paper. Look at them by the end of the week and score them in terms of how legitimate of a barrier each one should be to you and your performance.  Also score them based on how much energy and emotion those listed barriers consume from you. The first step in getting rid of them is not allow them to impact you… which I know sounds like the cognitive equivalence of “don’t worry be happy” but it really is a choice to allow these barriers (at least most of them) to have so much power over you and your talents. The golfer committed to having only one thought in this week’s tournament: “I will have no excuses.”  I urge you to do the same.

10 responses to “Performance Barriers

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  2. Executive Director Ben Coplan said the determination, made by two consulting firms hired by NAEBA, Nutrinfo of Watertown, Massachusetts and Tradeworks Group, Inc.
    Incredibly hot Rod is surely an emerging merchandise, which the site says
    could be the “most potent all-natural herbal sexual formula offered anywhere inside the world”, that may
    produce “instant erections and outstanding sexual stamina”.

    Provided that a medical issue is not impinging on libido,
    these approaches might help a lot of individuals overcome
    sexual fatigue.

  3. I’m wondering which blogging and site-building platform you are using? I’m new to running
    a blog and have been thinking about using the Blogger platform.
    Do you think this is a good foundation to start with?
    I would be extremely thankful if I could ask you some questions through email
    so I can learn a bit more prior to getting started.
    When you have some free time, please be sure to
    get in touch with me at: faustophifer@gawab.com. Thanks

  4. Superb blog! Do you have any helpful hints for
    aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Many thanks!

  5. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  6. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A number of my blog visitors have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  7. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth
    comment. I do believe that you need to publish more about
    this subject, it might not be a taboo subject but typically people do not talk about these topics.

    To the next! Many thanks!!

  8. Hello, I would like to subscribe for this webpage to obtain
    newest updates, so where can i do it please help.

  9. You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation but I in finding this topic to be actually one thing which
    I feel I would by no means understand. It seems too complex and very vast for
    me. I am taking a look ahead to your next put up, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!

  10. Hi, yeah this piece of writing is truly good and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.
    thanks.

Leave a Reply

