Thankful

When I was a kid and got sad, my mother would tell me the same thing: think of someone who has it worse than you.  Growing up in Africa, it was not hard to do and it always worked. I felt better and appreciated my misery, oddly enough, as it was much better than what most around me were experiencing. For them, my misery would be a luxury.

This Thanksgiving,  I invite you to think of someone in your life who has it worse than you. It is a simple but humbling way to appreciate all that is good about what you have and where you are. Your glass really is half full and always has been (optimism is a key behavioral attribute for happy and successful people).

Leave a Reply

